Ad Code

Responsive Advertisement

Mahaashtami: Mahagauri, Mahakali | When is being worshiped


On the eighth day of Mahaashtami i.e. Navratri, worship is being performed according to the rules and regulations of Mahagauri. On the eighth day of Baradshah, special worship in the form of Mahakali, Mahalaxmi, and Mahasaraswati is performed.

As the day of Maha Ashtami is the day to make Durga Bhawani powerful, it has a special significance.

Also Read: 

Chhath Puja 2021: 10 Things You Should Know About this Chhath

On this day, nine small stones are placed next to the urn, established as Ganesha, the eighth form of Durga, as an idol of the new goddess, and offerings, fruits, etc. are offered and worshiped.

On the day of Ghatsthapana, according to the Vedic tradition, the place where the urn and the Jamara are kept is worshiped today.

Today, at midnight, i.e. at the beginning of Navami, special worship of the goddess is performed. Worship of arms and ammunition of the Nepal Army and Police is also done according to the rules and regulations.

After performing the rituals of Mahagauri and Bhadrakali in the form of Shaktiki, it is also customary to offer sacrifices on this day. It is customary to offer goats, chickens, ducks, etc. in this way, while vegetarians and those who do not want to sacrifice offer fruits like Kubindo, Ghiroula, etc. in the form of animals with small sticks like four limbs.

Today, Durga Bhawani is specially worshiped by sacrificing animals in various Shakti Peeths of the state including Dashainghar and Kotal. Durga Saptashati, Srimad Devi Bhagwat, and Devistotra are recited.

Today, night, and day are celebrated with the method of animal sacrifice and worship. This is of special importance as the worship method and resolve of Kalratri are different.


Post a Comment